Fields of Words

 

It was a bright morning in the mountains, and we were camping along a beautiful river. I was in the mood for a long walk, so set out on a journey with Nikki, in tow. We came around a bend in the narrow road, and what we saw caught my breath. A colorful field of wildflowers stretched out before us. We climbed unto a boulder, and enjoyed the beauty…so many colors. We talked about how God scattered the seeds of hundreds of flowers, just for us! It was captivating and a memory I’ll never forget.

Image

I’ve always thought of words, as wildflower seeds…words can be flowers we scatter. I love words as much as I love flowers. When I come to the end of my life, I hope to have used my words to bring hope and healing.
Proverbs 18:21 says that our words have the power of life. Ephesians 4:29 says that good words edify, and can be used to minister grace to those who hear them. Proverbs 16:24 compares gracious words to honey, that can bring health to the body.

Have you ever wondered why we tend to wait until a person has died, before we speak about how much we loved them; the good they have done, or how much joy they brought into our lives?
A dear Aunt died unexpectedly last year, and in the days surrounding her death and funeral, I heard amazing stories about how she spent her life for others. People talked about her generous heart, and funny disposition. She made us laugh, until tears streamed down our faces. Aunt JoJo had made an impact on so many people. I just felt so sad, because I don’t think she had much of an idea how loved she was, or how often she was the one to light up a room. As I sat at her funeral, listening to person after person “pass out their roses” through words, I made a commitment to not wait until it was too late, to tell people how they matter to me.

Then this happened….

Just last night, everyone that had come to my in-laws for a Memorial Day barbecue had left, with the exception of Duane’s family–brothers, sisters-in-law, parents, nieces & nephews. We were sitting in a semi-circle, chatting, while we watched the kids swim. As usual, we got silly, and in fun, one of the sister-in-laws got up and told us individually what she liked about us. After her, another got up…and another….
What started as funny, turned into every single family member in that semi-circle, telling each family member how much they matter to them.
It was unplanned and spontaneous…it was beautiful.
My children sat among their people, and had their uncles, aunts, cousins, and grandparents edify and bless them. As tears fell, and with lots of laughter interjected, we shared memories, and then called each other to be courageous and full of integrity. Iron sharpening iron. Words being scattered over each other as blessings. Words speaking life, and filling with hope.

“May the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart, be pleasing….”  

Psalm 19:14

One thought on “Fields of Words

Leave a Reply

