Tell The Story

God is up to something big (He usually is), yet this time He is asking me to jump all in, with Him. I am not inherently courageous, so this isn’t about my ability to be brave, in fact, it’s more about being completely terrified, and believing any amount of peace that I feel, comes from His tender heart.

Nine months ago, I said “Yes” to sharing my God Story at my church. It was filmed at an old house, that I lived in as a young girl, and shared a few weeks later with my church family.
I’ve always known this time was coming. From the age of 14, I knew I would share my story, I just had no idea when or how.
Nine months later, God decided to take my story to another church.

Three weeks ago, I woke wide awake at 2:30 am, with three words being spoken firmly, “Tell the Story”. As I became more cognizant of what that meant, a song came forth. I mostly heard the music, and a phrase,
“….no limits, no boundaries, I see increase all around me, stretch forth, break forth, release me, enlarge my territory.”
I recognized the song (Vicki Yohe-Increase Me), and also that this was the Prayer of Jabez in 1 Chronicles:
“Jabez, he was the one who prayed to the God of Israel, ‘Oh, that you would bless me and expand my territory! Please be with me in all that I do, and keep me from trouble and pain.’ And God granted him his request.”

Night after night, I wake up with this song, and so I pray that as I step out in surrender, He will make the next step known. I am like anyone else, who would really appreciate a detailed map, with step by step instructions. He knows that what I really need is simply the next assignment. He knows that if He gave me every detail about what lays before me, I might opt out.

I know that my next two assignments are:
1) Make one phone call.
2) Start typing on a blank page.

After that, I don’t know what comes next. I am most assured He does.

If you are reading this and feel directed, this girl could use prayer.
I have not doubt that God has a Redemption Story to share, and He has asked me to be a willing Storyteller. It comes with sacrifice, uncharted territory, courage, discipline…all things that He is supreme in.

So, I stretch forth…
Image

4 thoughts on “Tell The Story

  1. I’m praying for you, that God’s words will splash all over the screen as He uses your fingers at the keyboard. Bless you!

  2. Praying with you for complete clarity and direction from God. You are a beautiful example of God’s redeeming grace, Sheila. I love you!

  3. Sheila, your willingness to be obedient to God’s prompting is going to bless someone, maybe many someones. There are some people who shine their lights brighter than others; who reflect the Spirit Who lives within by how they live, speak (and write); who radiate godliness in their eyes. I think you are one of those people and I look forward, prayerfully, to what you have to say here.

Leave a Reply

