Autumn’s Grace Two: Dry Spots

This afternoon, as I drove out of downtown Boise, I decided to stop by my husband’s office to say “Hi”. I walked in, and he and his co-worker, Matt, were watching a video of an area in Central California, where everyone’s wells have been dried up. The City of Porterville is completely without water, and reportedly has been for over five months.

There is one resident of Porterville, Donna Johnson, who has taken it upon herself to buy bottled water, with her own money, and she goes around and gives water to her neighbors.

I walked out of the office, and got back in my car, with the reality of Porterville’s drought heavy on me.

Donna Johnson is saving lives with water!
She spoke in the story saying, “One of the first families I gave a case of water to, I didn’t think it was nearly enough, but when I handed them that water, it was like handing them hope.” “One man said, ‘You’re the only one who came.'”

I drove for several miles unable to hold back tears.

And then I saw this. Actually, these signs are all over town, and have been all Summer. I’ve just never seen them like I did today.

DrySpots

A local Landscaping Company is advertising sprinkler repair for those brown spots we sometimes get in our green grass.

But today, it sent out a message to my heart that hit me right where Donna Johnson’s story did.

Mark 9:41
“For truly, I say to you, whoever gives you a cup of water to drink because you belong to Christ will by no means lose his reward.”

There are people all around me, who are living dried out and thirsty, and I have hope to offer them.

When I was trying to find an address downtown today, I came down through an older part of the city, past a rather sad-looking old church, where people were lined up at the front door with bags and baskets. Some looked homeless, some appeared to be refugees. Lined up for something to eat. Lined up for hope. That little old church was handing out fresh hope.

This speaks to me about needing to become part of the bigger picture. We can all get in and do something, even the little things put together make a big difference.

Yet today, what hit me like a ton of bricks, was how I go in and through life, day upon day, not noticing those who have dried up, waiting for hope.
Their lives have fallen apart, and they have given up. I walk past, possibly smile and give a sympathetic nod, but I have a message of hope that could possibly be a life-saving cup of cold water, finally quenching a deep thirst.

Laketrees 1

John 4:13-14
“Jesus said to her,“Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

Tonight, with this all still very much in my heart, I decided to drive out to a lake nearby, and walk beside the water. I needed to get quiet with God, and as the sun sank behind the Owyhee Mountains, I asked Him to open my eyes to dry spots and thirsty people.

Lake 3

I also prayed for Donna Johnson, as she hands out hope, in Porterville, California.

Leave a Reply

