Autumn’s Grace Three: Truth and Ducks

I learned about the truth as it pertains to rubber ducks from one of my sisters-in-law. I’ll call her T, to protect her privacy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was several years ago that I needed to learn about truth. I was going through a particularly challenging situation. I’ll rephrase that…I was going through one of the hardest seasons of my adult life.

I’m still not able to share details pertaining to that time, except to say that my husband and I had people we knew, who decided to smear our name. What they were spreading was not truth.

I remember telling those closest to us, that I wished that I could go to the highest point in the valley, and set everyone straight….yell out the truth!

That was when T gave me the little yellow rubber duck. She said, “Sheila, truth is like a rubber duck. They can keep trying to push it down (hide the truth with lies), but truth will always come back up to the surface. Just be patient”

I brought yellow duck home, and for years she sat in my window sill, constantly reminding me that the truth always comes back to the surface.

One morning, during those hard days, I sat at my kitchen table after the kids had left for school. I was falling apart. I basically told God that I couldn’t sit back and listen to the lies being told. I was looking for a mountain-top to climb, so that I could broadcast the truth.

Later that morning, over the car radio, I listened as the radio host quoted
Exodus 14:14—

2014-10-02 23.19.47

That’s what he said, but I heard God say, “Sheila, I will fight this battle for you. But I need you to sit down and shut up!”

Yes, God told me to shut up!! He must have known how effective those words would be for me.

He has to be blunt with me, more often than I proud of.

But I listened. I got quiet.

“Jesus answered, “I am the way, the TRUTH, and the life….” – John 14:6

“You will know the truth, and the TRUTH will set you free.” – John 8:32

When you see a yellow rubber duck, let it be a gentle reminder that TRUTH will fight for you, and get very, very still.

Read more from other bloggers writing for 31 days:
http://write31days.com/

One thought on “Autumn’s Grace Three: Truth and Ducks

Leave a Reply

