Autumn’s Grace Sixteen: Why Do You Weep?

I’ve recently read two stories about two women I’ve never met.

A 29 year old woman named Brittany Maynard from Oregon is planning to die on November 1st. She has terminal brain cancer, and doesn’t want to suffer with the effects of dying from the horrible disease. She is planning to crawl into her bed, surrounded by loved ones, and swallow a pill that a doctor has prescribed to her. That pill will end her life.

Another story someone shared with me recently, is about an anonymous woman, who published a letter to her unborn child, who she plans to abort this Friday (October 17th).

I am not planning to write today, about my moral beliefs on Physician Assisted Suicide or Abortion, other than to state for those who may not know me, that I strongly and with deep conviction, disagree with both.

Last night, sometime around 2:30 am, I woke up and almost immediately began to think about this baby whose life will end tomorrow, unless his/her mother changes her mind. I laid in the dark and began to feel so much pain in my heart, that it physically hurt. I did what I do, when I don’t feel like I can do anything else…I prayed. I talked to God about this anonymous woman, wherever she was, to change her mind, and find loving support from someone who can help her.

As I was praying, the phrase, “Woman, why are you weeping? Who are you looking for?” popped into my mind. I said it over and over a few times, remembering that somewhere in the Bible- Book of John, The Resurrected Jesus asks those questions of Mary of Magdalene.
He had been crucified, and she was at His tomb, grieving over the loss of her friend, Jesus, when He appears to her and asks her about her tears. She doesn’t recognize Him, and assumes He is the gardener or care-taker. She asks Him to tell her where they had taken the body.
But then Jesus speaks her name, “Mary” and she knows His voice. She responds with “Rabbi!” (meaning “Teacher”)

I laid there in my bed, thinking over that encounter Mary had with Jesus. When He asked her those two questions, “Why are you weeping?” and “Who are you looking for?” I wonder if in her mind she wanted to blurt out, “I’m came here looking for Jesus! I need some hope!”?

I think that would be my response, as I think about Brittany and Anonymous.

To decide to take someone’s life, whether it’s your own, or someone else’s, you would have to feel hopeless at your very core (in addition to some other things).

I believe God knows where Brittany Maynard is, and He knows where Anonymous is. He has both of their addresses. He knows more about their stories than any living person does. He can speak their names…and my HOPE is, that they will recognize His voice.

“Jesus, there are some women in this world, who are hopeless. One is so hopeless that she is choosing to take her own life. The other hopeless one plans to take the life of her unborn baby. They need hope! They need to encounter You! Please hold out Your hand, and speak their names.”

Hand-F450

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit, you may abound in hope. -Romans 15:13

A open letter Kara Tippets wrote to Brittany Maynard: Dear Brittany-Why We Don’t Have To Be So Afraid Of Dying and Suffering That We Chose Suicide

An open letter Matt Walsh wrote to Anonymous: Dear Woman Who’s Getting An Abortion Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

