The Cross Is Enough

Today is the day Christians remember the Cross. We remember the price Jesus paid to redeem our lives, by dying on that cross. We believe the Cross is enough.
cross_nail
“He was pierced for our transgressions; He was crushed for our iniquities; upon Him was the chastisement that brought us peace, and by His wounds we are healed.” -Isaiah 53:5 (ESV)

By His wounds we are healed.
By His wounds we are healed.
By His wounds I am healed.

I’ve grown up in the church, hearing those words. I’ve lived hearing because of the price Jesus paid, I can be healed. It’s just taken over forty years to really believe it. To believe it enough to live as one who has been healed.
brokenpitcher_001_s2_
I’ve always viewed myself as broken or damaged. And in my mind I saw myself as useless.
I believed it when I heard preachers and teachers say, “God will pick up the broken pieces and put you back together.” and I’ve imagined a pot that is full of cracks. It kinda looks like the beautiful pot it once was, yet it can’t do what it was meant to do, because of the cracks. That was me. Put back together, yet not useful. It’s just plain ol’ pitiful.

I’ve been hearing new, fresh words from God. He is revealing to me that He does better work, than what I’ve imagined all this time! He didn’t pick up the shards of my life, fumbling around with glue, hoping that I will resemble my former self, yet full of gaps and cracks

He’s the Creator of Heaven and Earth. He does better work than that.

He does not leave me broken, and He doesn’t want me to resemble the mess I used to be. When He says He is up to doing new things, He isn’t talking about leaving me as I am.

“Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.” Isaiah 49:19 (ESV)

We may have scars, yet those will not render us useless. Jesus used his scars to remind his disciples of who He was, and what He had done for them.
My scars do not indicate that I’m still broken, they indicate healing. When I see them now, I remember WHO my Healer is.

I’m a little concerned about how often I hear healed people talk about how broken they are. I do believe that at a point, we are broken, but when God heals us, He does not leave us broken, useless, and stuck.

So if it’s true—if His death on the cross means that through and by Him, I am healed, am I living as one who has been healed, or am I still dwelling in the pit of despair; stuck and trapped?

This requires an answer.

John 10:10….”I (Jesus) came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.” (ESV)

John 8:35….”So if the Son sets you free, you are truly free.” (NIV)

Galations 5:1….”For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.” (ESV)

1 Peter 2:24…”He personally carried our sins in his body on the cross so that we can be dead to sin and live for what is right. By his wounds you are healed.” (NLT)

rose-478786_1280 (1)
This means:
I’m free…no chains, bars, walls, dungeons, pits. I’m not bound…to anything. I’m not a slave…to anyone. I don’t have to live fearful, discontented, lost, hopeless, depressed, oppressed, shamed….

I don’t have to try harder, worry more, do more, be more.
Jesus did it all. The Cross was enough.

“Child, stop fighting a fight that’s already been won. You are redeemed!” – Jesus.

The cross changes everything. The struggle is over. The blood was shed. The price is paid. We are healed.

If you have gotten to the end of these words, and you are thinking, “Well isn’t that nice for her!”, but you don’t believe that the cross was not enough for you, please reach out to someone you trust, and ask the questions you have.

“For God so loved the world, that He gave His one and only Son, that whosoever (that’s us) believes in Him, will not perish, but have eternal life.” – John 3:16

One thought on “The Cross Is Enough

Leave a Reply

