I’m Glad We’ve Got This Figured Out

key-629962_1280
“Speak in the hard places. Go where it’s most painful, and write from that place.”

I heard Harmony say those words in the middle of that restaurant, and I knew from where and Whom they came.

God has been speaking those words to me for two years, and I’ve been mostly avoiding Him.

“Child, I want you to speak words from where it’s most painful. I want you to go to the hardest places, because that’s where my grace is.”

When I got back to the house were I was staying, I crawled up onto the bed, and I wept my heart out. Cried out all the tears, and then God and I talked—

God: “You know what I’m asking you to do.”
Sheila: “Yes.”
God: “Are you ready to do it?”
Sheila: “Well, I really would rather talk about recipes and maybe…coffee.”
God: ” I’ve got that covered.”
Sheila: “Yes, You do.”

I’ve been silently processing for two weeks. Saying “Yes” and coming up with nothing, until 3:00 am, this morning.

“Tell me about redemption.”

Those very words—at 3:00 am. I sat up in bed, and stared into the dark.

I immediately remembered Kelly, a writer who was sitting across from me two weeks ago, in Texas. She asked, “Sheila, what do you write about?” I answered without pause “I write about redemption, mostly.”

I’m aware that sleep is over for the night, and I slip quietly out of our bedroom. As I start down our stairs, I can hear Nikki’s radio playing the 10th Avenue North song, “Worn”. I stop in my tracks because at that very moment, I hear these words:

“Let me see redemption win
Let me know the struggle ends
That You can mend a heart
That’s frail and torn
I wanna know a song can rise
From the ashes of a broken life
And all that’s dead inside can be reborn
Cause I’m worn.”

So, in case you were wondering, let’s get this straight….

My name is Sheila, and I write about redemption, mostly. I write from hard places, because the occupants of planet earth are worn out. Someone out there needs to know that Redemption wins. I will go where God’s soothing grace runs deep, and I will tell them about Redemption, because…well, that’s my story, and because God said so. Stay tuned.

“I call on your name, LORD, from deep within the pit. You heard me when I cried, ‘Listen to my pleading! Hear my cry for help!’ Yes, You came when I called; You told me, ‘Do not fear.’  LORD, You took up my case. You redeemed my life.” 
-Lamentations 3: 55-58 (NLT)

5 thoughts on “I’m Glad We’ve Got This Figured Out

  1. Pingback: I’m Glad We’ve Got This Figured Out | conversations at the table

  2. Sheila, I love it and I am rejoicing over your redemption and your willingness to share from the hard places. Thank you for sharing your story with us, for having lunch across from me, and for being real when it is easier to be fake. I can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

